Frog and Toad: Dragons and Dungeons is such a great book to read aloud in the elementary classroom. Young children can easily identify with the characters friendship and witty personalities.  The book’s detailed illustrations invite and amuse all young readers.  The students giggled at Frog and Toad’s facial expressions when faced with the terrifying snake, tumbling rocks and intimidating hawk.

This was my first attempt at a planned “philosophical discussion” with my students.  We have meaningful discussions all the time while reading aloud, but this was more concentrated and intense.  In my plans I used  questions from Matthews and Saltzman on the website as a model for my discussion.  These questions are perfect for guiding a philosophical discussion and fostering an environment that validates the different viewpoints represented.

When I began the conversation I asked “What do you think bravery looks like?” The children sat up straight and tall and had strong expressions on their face.  Several words were called out, “It looks powerful” and “real strong.”  Going back through the book, the students agreed and disagreed about whether the Frog and Toad were brave since they appeared worried.  I validated their comments with an encouraging nod and smile and let others finish contributing.  The class seemed to agree with the comments but wanted to add more.  I could tell several students knew what they wanted to say but had a hard time coming up with the words.   I believe what these children wanted to say was eventually mentioned by another student.  I then asked “what does being brave mean?  One said “not scared or frightened” and another said “not worried.” The word “courageous” was also called out.  I was proud of the vocabulary used since this was our first go around at this type of discussion.  My last question was “Can Frog and Toad still be brave but worried.”  Most students nodded yes and several students called out “no.”  I then turned the question on them.  “Can we still be brave but worried?” With the recent thunderstorms and tornadic activity we had already discussed this to a certain extent.  One student replied by saying “You can still be brave but worried.”  Another shared, “Sometimes being worried causes you to do the right thing and stay safe.” One said, “Being a little worried can keep you from danger sometimes.”

My children loved this time together and I feel it went really well.  Having time to gather thoughts and a plan, I will feel more prepared for our philosophical discussions going into next year.  I anticipate what lies ahead concerning philosophical discussions with our young children.